Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

We are in the year of World T20 and whether it takes place or not in the current situation is a different matter. A total of  WT20s have been played so far and in this article, we take a look at the Player of the match in the final of each WT20 tournament.

2007 : Irfan Pathan

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

Out of all the World T20 events, 2007 would be the most special one for Indian fans. Not just because India won the tournament but also because no one had expected India to achieve the success without their senior players. In the final, India took on Pakistan and it was Irfan Pathan who came up with the Man of The Match performance in the big final.

Batting first, India scored a challenging 157 on the board. The target of 158 was neither too big nor too small for Pakistan and hence, India had to continue taking wickets. Both RP Singh and Irfan Pathan took 3 wickets apiece but Pathan conceded 10 runs less than him. Pathan’s figures read 4-0-16-3 which helped India win the tight final by just 5 runs and for his performance he was the player of the match in the first ever WT20.

2009 : Shahid Afridi

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

Unlike WT20 2007 final, this one turned out to be pretty straightforward and Pakistan ended up on the right side of the result. Shahid Afridi, for his all-round performance was adjudged the Player of the match in the 2009 WT20 final.

Pakistan restricted Sri Lanka to just 138-6 on the back of 3 wickets from Abdul Razzaq. Afridi also took the wicket of Isru Udana. Pakistan had an easy target in front of them but batting second in a big final always adds to the pressure. Afridi steered Pakistan’s chase with 40 balls 54 and Pakistan had an easy win over Sri Lanka in the WT20 2009.

2010 : Craig Keiswetter

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

The final of WT20 2010 turned out to be pretty much like it’s previous version where England had their first success at an ICC trophy after taming Australia quite easily in the big final. Sidebottom, Broad and Swann led England bowling restricted Australia to a mere 147-6 which was later chased by England very easily. The chase was led by opener and wicketkeeper batsman Craig Keiswetter alone with Kevin Pietersen. Kieswetter was adjudged Man of the Match for his 63(49).

2012 : Marlon Samuels

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

2012 WT20 final followed the same pattern as the previous 2 did, with the batting first side getting restricted to a low score except for the fact that West Indies defended their low score in a dramatic final against Sri Lanka. Marlon Samuels played one of the best T20 innings you will ever see and he was rightly declared player of the match for his inning.

When all the focus was on the likes of Gayle, Bravo and Pollard, Samuels silently played a lone warrior knock when all the big guns failed. Samuels scored 78(56) when the next best score was 26. He took West Indies to a fighting 137-6 which they somehow defended on the back of 3 wickets from Sunil Narine and 2 from Sammy.

2014 : Kumar Sangakkara

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

Sri Lankan veteran Kumar Sangakkara was the player of the match when Sri Lanka finally broke their ICC trophy jinx after 1996 and won their first ever WT20. Beating India in final was special for them as it was the same opposition against whom they had lost an ODI World Cup final 3 years back.

But they had earned the victory due to a splendid and disciplined bowling effort from the whole bowling unit. Restricting Indian batting lineup to a meager 130 was no mean effort which is evident from the fact that no Sri Lankan bowler conceded more than 29 runs in their 4 over spell. Later, Sri Lanka went on to chase that score pretty comfortably with Kumar Sangakkara staying unbeaten with a 52 from 35 balls. Even though bowling lineup was the reason behind Sri Lanka’s success, there was no single bowler who stood up individually and it was a collective effort from bowlers which prompted the jury to give the award to Sangkkara.

2016 : Marlon Samuels

Who was the Player of the Match in each WT20 Final?

2016 WT20 final is mostly remembered for the Carlos Brathwaite heroics but it was once again Marlon Samuels who delivered when the team needed him the most. Samuels remained unbeaten on 85 whereas Brathwaite won West Indies the game with 4 sixes in last 4 balls of the match.

Earlier, West Indies restricted England to 155 with Bravo and Brathwaite both taking 3 wickets apiece. WI themselves were 11-3 during the chase and it was Samuels who started stitching the partnership with rest of the batsmen. However, his efforts would’ve gone in vain had it not been for Brathwaite’s remember the name moment which ensured West Indies their second WT20 success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *