Roxx Bengal T20 Challenge Tournament overview : Everything you need to know about the new Bengal T20 competition

After Tamilnadu, Karnataka and Saurashtra, it’s the turn of a new state based franchise tournament to roll on and the championship has already been unveiled at the iconic Eden Garden. This time, it’s the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) who has come with its own state T20 competition keeping the main objective of giving local players more opportunities and unearthing local talents in mind. The tournament is called Roxx Bengal T20 Challenge and it has already begun today. We have an overview of the entire tournament that will be played from 24th November to 9 December. Let’s take a look at all the details you need to know in order to follow this tournament closely.


The competition will have a total of 6 teams named as Tapan Memorial Club, East Bengal Club, Kalighat Club, Town Club, Mohun Bagan AC, and Calcutta Customs Clubs. Out of these 6 clubs, the rivalry between Mohun Bagan AC and East Bengal Club would surely be the one to keep an eye on. These two teams are arch rivals in Football and hence we can expect a near same rivalry to be formed in cricket challenge as well.

The tournament kicked off today with the match between Mohun Bagan AC and Calcutta Customs Club.

Star Players

Roxx Bengal T20 Challenge Tournament overview : Everything you need to know about the new Bengal T20 competition
Manoj Tiwary, Bengal star cricketer will be a player who will draw eyeballs in this tournament

It’s often the star players who ignite the urge among masses to follow any tournament. Here is the list of star players who will be center of attraction in Roxx Bengal T20 Challenge.

East Bengal Club : Shreevats Goswami [played IPL 2020 for SRH], Arnab Nandi (captain)

Mohun Bagan AC : Manoj Tiwary [Played for KXIP in IPL 2018], Debabrata Das, Anustup Majumdar (captain)

Kalighat Club : Sudip Chatterjee , Subham Chatterjee (captain)

Tapan Memorial Club: Shahbaz Ahmad (captain) [Played IPL 2020 for RCB], Prayas Ray Barman [Represented RCB in IPL 2019]

Town Club : Avijit Singh (captain)

Calcutta Customs Club: Shreyan Chakraborty


The entire tournament will be played on double round robin based which means every team will clash with the other team twice in the group stage. That makes it a total of 30 league games and with two semifinals and a final, the total number of matches to be played in this tournament will be 33.

Time and Venue

All the matches will be played at the iconic Eden Garden behind the closed doors due to the prevailed COVID-19 situations. The evening matches will start at 4 PM while the night games will begin at 8 PM. However, on a couple of days there will be an extra third match will be played as well and that game will begin at 12 PM.

Where to watch

The matches won’t be telecasted on TV but the cricket enthusiasts will be able to stream the games on the Fancode app.

COVID-19 threat on the competition

Even though CAB has ensured that the tournament will be played behind closed doors and a strict bio-secure bubble will be maintained to keep the players and related authorities safe, COVID-19 threat doesn’t seem to go anywhere. Three of the six teams have called for replacements after their players were found COVID-19 positive.

East Bengal Club has to be without the services of their star batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran and Abhishek Raman as they both were tested positive. Same case with Mohun Bagan FC as well as Writtick Chatterjee has been found positive while Rajkumar Pal has left because his father was infected with the virus. Let’s hope the tournament gets completed without any health issues to anyone.


East Bengal Club: Abhijit Bhagat, Shreevats Goswami, Arnab Nandi, Boddupalli Amit, Ranjot Singh Khaira, Dipanjan Mukherjee, Mukesh Kumar, Sayan Shekhar Mandal, Kanishk Seth, Akash Pandey, Arindam Ghosh, Anubhav Ahuja, Raju Harlder, Sujit Kumar Yadav and Durgesh Kumar Dubey

Mohun Bagan AC: Manoj Tiwary, Debabrata Das, Anustup Majumdar, Vivek Singh, Akash Deep, Sayan Ghosh, Saurav Pal, Sunil Kumar Dalal, Ankur Paul, Shivam Sharma, Saurabh Singh, Prince Yadav, Anuraj Tiwari, Sandipan Das and Suraj Sindhu Jaiswal

Town Club: MD. Kaif, Aritra Chatterjee, Sudip Gharami, Mirza Danish Alam, Ayan Bhattacharjee, Golam Mustafa, Kazi Junnaid Saifi, Arikta Das, Azaz Ansari, Gitimoy Basu, Avijit Singh, Purab Joshi, Ananta Saha, Pankaj Shaw and Naved Ahmed

Kalighat Club: Subham Sarkar, Subham Chatterjee, Jayojit Basu, Sudip Chatterjee, Pradipta Pramanik, Mithilesh Das, Aamir Gani, Amit Kulia, Pritam Chakraborty, Amit Banerjee, Satyaki Dutta, Abhishek Bose, Sourav Mondal, Shubhrajit Das and Prinan Dutta

Tapan Memorial Club: Shahbaz Ahmad, Koushik Ghosh, Sandipan Das, Prayas Ray Barman, Nilkantha Das, Sumit Mohanta, Abhishek Porel, Gaurav Chauhan, Kaif Ahmad, Debopratim Halder, Roshan Singh, Ramesh Prashad, Sourav Chanda, Shakir Habib Gandhi and Tarun Godara

Calcutta Customs Club: Shreyan Chakraborty, Abhishek Das, Chirag Pathak, Sumanta Gupta, Karan Lal, Agniv Pan, Ravi Kant Singh, Dip Chatterjee, Bapi Manna, Suvankar Bal, Prosenjit Kr Das, Arun Kumar, Kunal Kumar, Arka Sarkar and Abhi Las Semwal

Leave a Comment