IPL : List of Orange Cap Winners in every season

With Mumbai Indians winning the IPL trophy for four times which is the most won by any team, we take a look at the individuals who have won most Orange Cap awards in the tournament. Orange Cap is given to the batsman who scores most runs at the end of the season while leading wicket taker at the end of the season gets the purple cap, a list we will compile in another article.

2008 : Shaun Marsh – 616 runs

Australian batsman Shaun Marsh who played for Kings XI Punjab in the inaugural season of IPL won the orange cap in 2008 after putting 616 runs in the season. The southpaw was in scintillating form which is pretty evident from the fact that he played only 11 matches to amass those 616 runs. He converted 6 of his 11 outings into big ones as he went on to score 5 fifties and a 100.

2009 : Matthew Hayden – 572 runs

Chennai Super Kings opening batsman Matthew Hayden won the prestigious award in 2009 as he went on to score 572 runs in just 12 games. Hayden too scored 5 half centuries and had a strike rate of 144 in the tournament which was played in South Africa. Despite his impact, CSK still had to wait for another season to win their maiden IPL competition.

2010 : Sachin Tendulkar – 618 runs

It is impossible to stop Sachin Tendulkar from creating any sort of batting record and even though IPL fans had to wait a couple of years, they did get to see the best of Sachin Tendulkar in the 3rd season of IPL where Master Blaster and the captain of Mumbai Indians broke the existing record and scored 618 runs in the season with 5 50s in 15 matches. It is a staggering fact that he only hit 3 sixes in the entire season.

2011 : Chris Gayle – 608 runs

After getting unsold in the auction, Chris Gayle made KKR repent their decision of leaving him out as he took IPL by storm making a comeback to the tournament for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle began the season with a 100 against his former team KKR and completed with 608 runs in 12 matches with 2 100s and 3 half centuries. Gayle also hit 44 sixes, a record which he only went on to improve in 2012.

2012 : Chris Gayle – 733 runs

In the next season, Gayle went even further when it comes to breaking records and sensationalizing his own performance. Gayle scored a massive 733 runs in the 2012 season at a strike rate of 160. In those 15 matches of the season, Gayle scored 7 half centuries and a century. He also hit 59 sixes which was 15 more than the number of fours he hit in that particular season.

2013 : Michael Hussey – 733 runs

In the next season, Aussie batsman and CSK opener Michael Hussey performed like an old wine as the experienced campaigner matched Gayle’s record of 733 runs in one particular season. You can’t say he surprised everyone by this because he was always a consistent performer for Australia in limited overs cricket but Hussey’s stellar year with bat made sure CSK started trusting in experience more than youth since then.

2014 : Robin Uthappa – 660 runs

KKR opener Robin Uthappa went on to become the first & only batsman so far to win IPL trophy along with the Orange Cap. So far, none of the orange cap holders had gone on to win the trophy and Uthappa broke that jinx in 2014 as his side lifted the IPL trophy for second time beating KXIP in the final. Uthappa himself showed tremendous consistency as he scored 660 runs with 5 half centuries in 16 matches.

2015 : David Warner – 562 runs

David Warner has grown in stature over the years when it comes to IPL and now he is recognized as one of the best overseas batsmen when it comes to IPL. He has won 3 orange cap awards in last 5 seasons, a supremacy which started back in 2015 when he was appointed as captain of SunRisers Hyderabad. Warner scored 562 runs in 2015 with 7 50s in 14 matches. He also had a more than impressive strike rate of 156 which is his highest playing for this franchise.

2016 : Virat Kohli – 973 runs

RCB skipper Virat Kohli finally had an extraordinary season as he shattered all the batting records ever made in IPL. Kohli scored a whole lot of runs, 973 to be precise which is still the highest number of runs a batsman has made in the season. He averaged 81 and his strike rate was 152. Before that season, Kohli had no 100 in T20s, he scored 4 of those in that particular season only. Kohli also scored 7 half centuries which means he had 11 50+ scores in 16 innings. Unfortunately for him, he couldn’t lay off his hands at the IPL trophy despite all his unbelievable efforts.

2017 : David Warner – 641 runs

Before 2017, Warner had scored 828 runs in the previous season which was an extraordinary performance overshadowed by an even better performance from Virat Kohli. Warner scored 641 runs at an average of 58 in 2017 which won him the orange cap for the second time, a feat only he and Chris Gayle had achieved till now.

2018 : Kane Williamson – 735 runs

Kane Williamson, known as a traditional Test match batsman till then broke all the myths about him as a T20 batter as the SRH captain ( for that particular season ) scored 735 runs in the season to win the Orange Cap award. His strike rate of 142 was more than good to earn him the respect as a T20 batsman. Williamson scored 8 50s in the season but his side failed to win the tournament by a whisker as SRH were defeated by CSK in the final.

2019 : David Warner – 692 runs

In many ways, 2019 was David Warner’s best season even though he had scored more runs in a season before. Warner won his 3rd Orange Cap in 2019 but what stood out for him was his consistency as he scored 8 fifties along with a 100 in just 12 games. His ratio of 75% 50+ scores in a particular season beat Kohli’s 68.75% 50+ scores in IPL 2016 and when you have outnumbered someone’s extraordinary season in some way, it has to be your best season.

Leave a Comment