Cricket Australia releases Big Bash 10 schedule, every city to host the tournament despite the pandemic

The premier Australian T20 competition Big Bash is back with its 10th season and we have the full schedule out for the competition where every city has been allocated to host the matches. Cricket Australia has released the schedule where the tournament will begin on 10th December and the final will be played on 6th February. In an almost 2 months long tournament, a total of 60 matches will be played including the final.

What comes as a major boost for the fans is that every team is subjected to play at their home venues even in this pandemic situation and that means in some of the cities, they will have the fans support in stadium too. Depending on the COVID situations, certain certain cities like New South Wales, 50% of the crowd could be allowed to watch the game while Western Australia could allow 100% crowd if things remain the same in the state. The tournament will begin with defending champion Sydney Sixers taking on Hobart Hurricanes in the Blundstone Arena in Tasmania.

Here is the full schedule of the tournament :


One issue with the matches this season would be invariable timing as per the geographical condition of every city. While the first few matches will begin at 01:45 PM IST, other few games are also scheduled to be played at times like 08:45 AM IST. Some of the matches will even begin as early as 05:40 AM IST while some will begin at 11 AM and 12 AM IST and remembering and adjusting to different times for almost each and every game would be  a challenge for viewers.

“The league is delighted to confirm the boldest schedule in Australian sport since the pandemic began by committing to take matches to every club’s home market in BBL 10,” Mr  Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s head of Big Bash League said. 

Melbourne and Sydney will be hosting the majority of second half of the tournament. Melbourne will host 11 matches in 12 days and the matches will be scattered across both the venues, Marvel Stadium and Melbourne Cricket Ground. The league stage will end on 26th January with a double header on MCG and then the BBL playoffs will begin from 29th January, the venue for which hasn’t been decided yet. The final will be played on 6th February. However, the schedule can be tweaked as per the existing COVID-19 situation in a particular city at a particular time.

Big Bash tweaked quite a few rules this season and you must already be aware of them. However, last year they also tweaked with the playoff format. As per the new format, 5 teams qualify for the playoff and the top 2 teams get 2 chances each to qualify for the final. Sydney Sixers had won the last BBL and it was their second BBL win. Perth Scorchers have won the tournament 3 times which is the most BBL titles for a single team.

Leave a Comment