The 9th season of Big Bash League hasn’t been short of any drama. A day before people saw 2 hattricks being taken on the same day but what happened in the very next game was nothing sort of extraordinary. It was first of it’s kind in many ways as you would rarely see such things happening on a frequent basis. The incident also created a lot of controversy with people divided over it’s acceptance.
Australian and Hobart Hurricanes wicket-keeper Matthew Wade was playing his first game of the season after being relieved from the national duties when his side took on Brisbane Heat in the 29th game of the league. On the penultimate delivery of the 15th over bowled by Ben Cutting, Wade went high in the Deep mid-wicket region which looked like going over for a six until it got intersected by Matt Renshaw near the boundary ropes who made the first contact with the ball when he was inside the boundary, jumped outside, punched it in like a volleyball player and the catch was eventually taken by Tom Banton who was waiting inside the boundary.
Here is the video of the spectacular catch :
👏 Amazing catch today in the @BBL!
Under Law 19.5, the catch is deemed lawful.
The key moment is when he first touches the ball, which is inside the boundary. He’s airborne for his second contact.pic.twitter.com/ZTWMjAhffT
— Lord’s | Ticket Ballot now open! (@HomeOfCricket) January 9, 2020
If you listen to the commentators carefully, you’ll find that they were very certain that the catch wasn’t legal and so were the umpires as they gave it Not Out initially before going upstairs for the confirmation. The slow motion replays showed that Renshaw had taken that catch following the rules of the game and hence the decision was overturned which meant a confused Wade had to depart after a well made 50.
According to rule 19.5.2, A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary which was clearly not the case with Renshaw making the catch legal.
It generated different opinions on Twitter though as a lot of people were still confused while many were fuming over the fact something of this kind still exists in modern day cricket.
I’ve got no problem with where he left from. It’s where he ends up. After he touches the ball he needs to end up back in the field of play.
If that’s not the rule then the whole thing is farcical and the rule needs to change. https://t.co/Y797AsxP5G
— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) January 9, 2020
Kiwi All-rounder James Neesham criticized the rules by calling it ‘ Farcial ‘.
It isn’t the law. The law is basically as long as player isn’t in contact with ground when he parries it to other dude it doesn’t matter where he lands.
— Elizabeth Ammon (@legsidelizzy) January 9, 2020
While some other cricket lovers defended the law.
Wade’s dismissal left the team in total disarray as the Hurricanes could only manage to score 126 in their 20 overs which was chased by Brisbane Heats with 10 balls to spare. The significance of this catch can be understood from the fact that the next best score from Hurricanes batsmen was 17 only.
What’s your take on it? Should it have been Out or Not Out?