All you need to know about the upcoming season of Bangladesh Premier League

The Seventh season of Bangladesh Premier League will go underway from 11th December with Bollywood stars like Katrina Kaif and Salman Khan already setting the stage on fire in the opening ceremony which was held on Sunday in the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

We bring you everything you need to know about the league before it commences in two days time.

  • Season : 7th
  • Total Teams : 7
  • Defending Champions : Comilla Victorians (Now known as Cumilla Warriors)
  • Opening Date : 11th December 2019
  • Final : 17th January 2020
Salman and Katrina Kaif in BPL opening ceremony

Salman and Katrina set the stage on fire in the opening ceremony of BPL

Rules of BPL :

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has come up with few interesting rules which every team needs to follow throughout the competition.

  1. Every team must have an overseas fast bowler who can bowl at 140+ clicks coupled with a mandatory leg spinner in the squad. 
  2. Much like IPL, a playing 11 can’t have more than four overseas cricketers.
  3. Total squad strength has to be 19. Out of which, minimum 9 and maximum 11 players should be Bangladeshi. 
  4. Every team must have an overseas coach, physiotherapist and trainer. 

These rules have been made in an attempt to give maximum exposure to the local talents across the country. Although, these are going to put a lot of pressure on team owners. Things were looking gloomy before the tournament as a lot of senior Bangladeshi cricketers had gone on strike protesting against these new rules but everything seems to be sorted now.

Teams :

There are a total of 7 teams which will participate in the team. Here is the list :

  1. Rajshahi Royals : Rajshahi Royals have never won BPL. Their best performance came in 2016 when they finished as runner up.
  2. Rangpur Rangers : The North Western team of the country have won the competition once in 2017.
  3. Sylhet Thunders : The team represents the city of Sylhet which have never won the BPL trophy. They have barely made to the qualifiers once in 2013.
  4. Cumilla Warriors : Previously known as Comilla Victorians, defending champions Comilla Warriors play for the Comilla city which is on the western coasts of Bangladesh. They’ve won the tournament twice in 2015 & 2019 and will again start as favourites.
  5. Chattogram Challengers : Chittogram Challengers have only played finals once, way back in 2013. The team has been a definition of struggle in all those years since then.
  6. Dhaka Platoon : Unarguably the best team of the competition, Dhaka Platoons have got to hold the trophy thrice. They’ve played 5 finals out of which they won 3 in 2012,2013 and 2016 respectively.
  7. Khulna Tigers: Much like 3 other teams in the list, Khulna Tigers too are looking to get a hand on the trophy for the first time. They haven’t played any final either.

Format :

The format of the competition is very simple, uncomplicated and Double Round Robin based. All the 7 teams will clash with each other twice in the league stage making it a total of 42 league games. Top 4 teams will qualify for the playoffs where 2 qualifiers and an eliminator will be played which will be followed by the big final.

A total of 46 Matches will be played within a span of 6 weeks and across 3 venues, each round wise.

Timing of BPL :

The timing of matches varies match wise. However, the first two games will start from 12:30 PM and 05:20 PM local time.
Indian Time = Local Time – 30 minutes.

Star Players :

Andre Russell picks BPL over BBL

Names like Chris Gayle (from second half), Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Thisara Perera, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Amir, Ravi Bopara, Shai Hope, Sheldon Cottrell, Shai Hope, Jeevan Mendis, Sherfane Rutherford, Tamim Iqbal, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Rile Roussow and Dawid Malan are going to be major crowd pullers in this season.

Fans will miss players like AB de villiers in this season as he will be playing in the Big Bash League simultaneously.

Also read :

Where to watch BPL :

  • India : D Sports / YouTube
  • Pakistan : Geo TV
  • West Indies : Flow Sports
  • Bangladesh : Gazi TV/ Channel 9
  • England : Star Gold
  • USA/Canada : Hotstar app

Full Squads :

BPL full Squads

Khulna Tigers: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shafiul Islam, Rilee Rossouw,  Hossain Shanto, Aminul Islam Biplob, Shamsur Rahman,Hasan Mahmud,  Mehedy Hasan Miraz, Shahidul Islam, Allis Al Islam, Tanvir Islam, Robbie Frylinck, Mohammad Amir, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Mohammed Saif.

Squad strength : 16


Cumilla WarriorsSoumya Sarkar, Dawid Malan,  Al Amin Hossain Sr., Yasir Ali,Dashun Sanaka, Sabbir Rahman, Sanzamul Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Sumon Khan, Fardin Hossain Ani, Kusal Perera and Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Squad strength : 13


Rangpur Rangers: Mustafizur Rahman,Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport, Naim Sheikh, Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Nadif Chowdhury and Sanjit Saha.

Squad strength : 13


Sylhet Thunder: Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam Apu,  Sohag Gazi, Rony Talukder, Nayeem Hasan, Delwar Hossain, Monir Hossain Khan, Rubel Mia, Sherfane Rutherford, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Naveen-ul-Haq, Johnson Charles and  Jeevan Mendis.

Squad strength : 14


Chattogram ChallengersMahmudullah Riyad, Chris Gayle, Keshrick Williams, Avishka Fernando, Rayad Emerit, Ryan Burl, Imad Wasim, Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Enamul Haque Jr, Muktar Ali, Pinak Ghosh, Nasum Ahmed and Junaid Siddique.

Squad strength : 16


Dhaka Platoon: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Hasan Mahmud, Mehedi Hasan, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagoto Hom Chowdhury, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Rakibul Hasan, Jaker Ali Anik, Thisara Perera, Laurie Evans, Wahab Riaz, Asif Ali, Luis Reece and Shahid Afridi.

Squad strength : 16


Rajshahi RoyalsLiton Das,Mohammad Irfan, Andre Russell,  Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Farhad Reza, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Irfan Shukkur, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Nawaz and Shoaib Malik.

Squad strength : 16

Since this season of BPL commemorate the 100th birth anniversary of Sheikh Muzibur Rahman who is also known as Bangbandhu, the 7th season of Bangladesh Premier League will be called Bangbandhu BPL to pay homage to the father of the nation.